I’m Doing A Thing

Yes I am indeed Doing A Thing, but you’ll have to wait till the end to see it!

*waits for everyone to scroll down and read it*

Okay then. Thanks guys.

Today I’m talking about The Sims 3. I play many games, and The Sims is one that has held a special place in my heart for quite some time. Usually I stick to the role-playing games, mmos, but there is something about simulation games, about ‘playing God’ that makes my little warlock heart flutter with delight!

Currently my sim-self is about to kick the bucket, along with her superstar athlete husband. I managed to make the poor thing have six children, who are varying in age from young adult to child. The Sims is fun for me because not only can I play the ever so fun character creation game like a crazy person, but I find joy in decorating their homes, planning and changing their outfits and hairstyles, and in just seeing how their lives go. Do I want them to be crazy successful, or an average Joe? Do I want them to wallow in squalor, or barely scrape by?

Like most other Sims players, I re-create myself to not really be myself, as I am of course not a fabulously rich businesswoman (yet) and I am not (yet) married to a Sim-world famous soccer player. I also have a world saved with some of the characters from a story I’m working on, as well as some people from real life. I haven’t yet gotten on the kick of killing so and so from real life to get my frustrations out, as that is kind of weird and slightly demented, even for me. I find that controlling ‘their’ life is almost as much fun!

I like it because it’s a very relaxed game. The only goals you have are the ones you set for yourself, you can take all the time you want with them, and the only time the game is high stress for me is when my sim-self decides to have triplets. I may or may not have gone in and adjusted the age sliders, so that they would be babies and toddlers for less time.

One of my favorite things to do lately is to set the free will as high up as it can go, and just sit back and observe. My kids start skipping school, eating ice cream, getting in arguments with eachother, but then I can bring them back into line with a few clicks.

I am quite excited for the Sims 4, although the fact that they are not putting toddlers in the game, or pools, is an odd choice to me. The models are already there, no? They would just have to adapt them to the new graphics, etc. But a game designer I am definitely not, so who am I to judge what they should or shouldn’t do? The community was/is in an uproar for a while, probably still is, if my Tumblr is correct. But! The new models look really cool, cartoony but not cheesy. I like the new character creation, and also the new way that they will be able to interact with each other. All in all, will probably buy, but not pre-order or buy right off the bat.

If you are still reading at this point, and didn’t skip directly to the bottom, hooray! I have been taking my own advice (and others’) into consideration and I have actually written out how I would like to proceed with my blog posts. I’m going back to basics, I found my original brainstorming sheet and made edits to it as planned. I’m going to continue with my goal of sharing my gaming stories and goals with you, and possibly even some guides, even though I’m usually the last one to figure that stuff out ^.^ My MO is usually go forth and slay, not go forth and see the most effective, time saving way in which to slay.

Blogging news! A NBI supporter, and an all around awesome/supportive guy, has a very neat idea and challenge for all us blogger types! Check out the link below!

Blaugust (via Belfast)

^See that? That’s something I Need. I feel as though I am ready to branch out into other topics in gaming other than games, and this will be a very good way for both myself and other bloggers (either in the NBI or not) to dig deep and find material to post on a daily basis.

Have a great day!

-B

One thought on “I’m Doing A Thing

Leave a comment