Feeling Detached

This week has been a rough one for me. I’ve talked about it in other blog posts, and those close to me know why, but this week has been a super emotional roller coaster. Not for any particular reason, in fact most of it is my mind stressing me out, but it is what it is, and this week I couldn’t be arsed to fight it or care. Which brings me to my point.

I’m finding I no longer care as much as I once did about Warcraft.

I’ve been un-subbed for a couple months now, and just a couple days ago, actually uninstalled the game. I’ve gone through cycles like this before, and I know it’s probably not a forever thing, but for right now, I’m done.

When I see people conversing on social media about some new thing, or even get in a debate about something that’s been around forever, part of me wants to chime in, but I always feel like the first reaction to me saying something is “Well, Byx, you aren’t even subbed.” I know this is my anxiety talking, 100%, but that’s the first thing I think of. Since I’m not actively playing the game, I feel as though I can’t actively discuss it. Which is baloney, but again we come back to the point of me kind of not caring anyways. I know my opinions are valid, I was actually recently on a podcast a good friend hosted where we talked about Garrisons, which was actually kind of fun and different, but it’s almost like there are conversations happening on the other side of a room, and I have to move past obstacles to get there to participate, and I can’t bring up the energy to do so.

Warcraft will always hold a special place in my heart, I have met so many amazing people through this game and had so many fun experiences, made so many great memories. For right now though, I’m feeling extremely detached and not a part of the World.

I could go on and on about this, but I would be talking (typing?) in circles, and I’ve kind of said what I wanted to say.

Take care =)

2 thoughts on “Feeling Detached

  1. You’re not alone in how you feel right now. I’m there myself, and there have been many others, I’m sure, who have taken a mental break from things for a while. Probably the best thing to do is go with whatever you feel like doing – cross-stitching, running, etc. If Warcraft feels like it was your world or a big part of it for quite some time, as it was for me for nine years, it’s almost like bringing a relationship to an end.

    But it’s not, of course. You can start it back up at any time. (It would be nice if marriage and kids were like that – don’t tell anyone I said that, though.) Recognize that things are the way they are and don’t beat yourself up about it. Just like you don’t have to be a veterinarian to talk about your cat, you don’t have to be subbed to talk about WoW. You still have lots of interesting and engaging things to say about it even though it’s not front and center in your gaming life.

    Talk about whatever the heck you want. That’s why lots of people read blogs – to read about what cool people are doing (or not doing.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

