Wanna FIGHT?!

DO YA?!?!?!
DO YA?!?!?!

“Though she is but little, she is fierce.” -Shakespeare

You got that right, mister!

 

Real life update: classes are winding down for me, just one more final to go and I am done with this semester! I’ve decided to opt out of classes for the first summer session, but will be taking some for the second session, before rolling right into the fall semester. I want to get this degree done, but I also want to have some of the summer off ^.^ Now then, back to what everyone really (maybe) cares about- GAMING!!!

I have been having the best time leveling my Lalafell-formerly-known-as-Hot-Elf-Babe in FFXIV. On a whim I used a Potion of Fantasia, which is a one-time use item that lets you alter your character completely (race, gender, appearance) for free. I received the potion as part of the recruit a friend system.

Just a wee lass
Just a wee lass

I am a huge MMO fan, but most of the MMOs I’ve played have been western titles, such as Warcraft and the Guild Wars games. This is my first serious foray into eastern style games, and I have to say, I’m thoroughly enchanted. The altoholic in me is not a huge fan, but I do really like the aspect of gameplay that allows your one character to be any class in game. All you have to do is swap out your weapon, and your attributes, skills, and the class are switched over automatically. Where this ties into gameplay is there are cross-class abilities available.

I’ve been leveling my character as an archer, if you couldn’t tell by the bow in the above picture. With that class she is currently 28 I believe, but I am beginning to struggle a bit in the scenario-based quests, where it pits you up against more challenging mobs with the aid of NPC’s. After talking with my Grand Company (as I do often, sorry not sorry for all the questions, but I have no idea what I’m doing ever, so…) a couple suggested that I take up another class and level it up to take advantage of the cross-class abilities, such as heals or defensive spells.

Ergo, I am leveling a Pugilist. Basically, I run around and punch things. Adorably. Because I’m a teeny Lalafell. More pictures? KAY.

FFXIV Wanna FIGHT

The feather in her hair is another part of the recruit a friend program, if I recall correctly it boosts experience across all classes up to a certain level, but doesn’t have much going for it stat-wise. However, since my goal at the moment is only to get the Pugilist to level 15, I’m not overly concerned about it. The game also has a very cool armory built into it, with the ability to save armor sets and swap between them at a click of a button, much like Warcraft.

I just find it highly amusing that I can go from this (somewhat) powerful and BA archer to a wee widdle newbie at a class, running around in stat-less gear, doing the “go here and kill x amount of these then come back, okay thanks” quests. I’m also still not used to my character looking and feeling so different, and it makes me smile that my adorable, chibi-like Lalafell is so scrappy.

Don’t MESS WITH HER. Really, don’t. This picture is terrifying.

oh god
NIGHTMARE FUEL LOL

 

Okie doke I think that’s enough out of me for today. Have a good one =)

 

Leave a Reply

