Cliche New Year’s Post

Hello, friends! Happiest New Year to you!

This is the part where I talk about how long it’s been since I’ve posted, how I’m going to get better, how I’m going to make a plan and a schedule.

Truth is, life makes that tough.

This year, I’m actively trying not to make any concrete resolutions. Years in the past I would have my little list, things written down, but this year I’m going to do something different. I’m just going to live my life, trying to improve things along the way, on a day-to day basis. The normal things like diet and exercise, but try to add in some fun things like writing posts here, finishing up the first draft of my book, spending more time with friends, and as always accomplishing things in games.

2014 was the year that:

  • I started to get over the feeling of embarrassment of acknowledging the fact that I play all these games. Not to mention that I enjoy them, or feel as if I play them fairly well. Most of that has to do with finding some wonderful people (who are now equally wonderful friends) that I met through Twitter and later in-game.
  • I became more confident in myself, in a lot of different aspects of my life.
  • I worried a lot about too many things that I can’t control, but worried anyways
  • I became a lot more self-aware of how I handle, deal, and work through issues. For good or ill. Whether I tackle them head-on or ignore them, and shove them in a tiny corner of my brain to rifle through later.
  • I attempted a great many things. Newbie Blogger’s Initiative, Blaugust, NaNoWriMo. Some of these were more successful than others, but I learned a great deal through all of them, and met some great people!
  • I adopted a cat, who is a loving, destructive ball of fluff, but he’s my loving destructive ball of fluff, and I am his.

2015 will be a fun year. Sure, I’m looking at it with the somewhat jaded standpoint of it being a new start, day one, quite cliché, but those exist for a reason. We go through these patterns every year, making resolutions of how we are going to actively make this year better than the last, dammit, because reasons.  I think we all just want to improve ourselves, constantly. Evolution, and all that.  I’m no longer one to believe I have to wait for a significant time, such as the first day of a new year, to change habits, or add new ones, or even think retrospectively about myself.

I’m eagerly looking forward to this year, and all the challenges, fun, and discovery that will happen.

 

NOW THEN- gaming talk, since that’s probably what everyone is here for, and not my ramblings about feelings and thoughts and all that nonsense! With the holidays, and finals for school, my available play time has diminished, but I’ve managed to rack up some hours in both WoW and Dragon Age: Inquisition. Mostly the latter, because that game is amazing.

WoW

WoWScrnShot_112614_070837

My enhancement shaman is my new BFF, and I am merrily stabbing at the Big Baddies with my awesome guild. My garrison is going along very well, level three, most buildings to that level as well. I’m still working on a lot of little things (leveling pets, mostly) now that the initial leveling-and-gearing-to-raid rush is over, and I can settle in and remember what else I want to accomplish. I’ve grown more comfortable with being a melee DPS, and I kind of enjoy the challenge of having to move more while attempting to keep my damage up to par. Luckily, the guild I am in is amazing, and even though we get shite done, there are no egos, no angry yelling raid leaders, and they make me laugh daily, even if it’s just scrolling through Twitter or bantering in guild chat.

Dragon Age: Inquisition

Inquisitor

This game is still awesome, and I’ve been spending most of my gaming time here. I’ve been playing as a ranged rogue, romancing Cullen, and I’m sure I’m missing a lot of little details, but for the first run of the game I’m just enjoying myself, having fun, doing what I want. I always end up replaying through, so I’m sure after the third or fourth time-saving the world, I’ll have seen and done most everything! I enjoy these games so much for the sheer choices you get to make, that impact the world and story so much. How your choices make the different characters interact with you is really neat too, and as always the banter between the companions is spot on, and has surprised a laugh out of me a couple of times. I can say with confidence that I will log a great many hours in 2015 in Thedas, and I cannot wait.

 

I wish all of you a happy new year, and I am eagerly looking forward to the adventures that await, both in-game and out!

 

Leave a Reply

