An Update

Good Morning!

This month can be summed up nicely in one word- hectic.

A last minute idea and gung-ho approach to NaNoWriMo, the launch of Warlords of Draenor, the release of Dragon Age: Inquisition, and a crazy snowstorm that has most of my city still shut down. There’s been a lot going on in the last couple of weeks. I’ll address these in order, and to those that may be wondering, I am fine insofar as the storm. I live north of the city, we only got a few inches here, and it’s been manageable, although my college has cancelled the classes all week since Tuesday when the snow hit.

NaNoWriMo

Well, I gave it a good shot. Currently, I am sitting not so pretty at 16,783 words. While I am impressed with myself, I am disappointed also that I am going to be unable to achieve the goal of 50k words in 30 days. Looking back at how the decision came about, I can see that I was totally unprepared for how much time it would take up. I decided to do it the day before, with no planning or forethought about when I would schedule time, no organization really other than the plot outline and a few characters fleshed out. I am, however, impressed with myself that I was able to stick with it for as long as I did. I am super proud of my friends that I have seen blasting their daily word count out of the water, and I am quite happy with my story, and now have the confidence to know that I can indeed sit down and spew forth words at a good rate. The hardest part for me was writing without going back and editing. Not going back, re-reading, changing words, realizing I typed ‘said’ way too much, trying to just let the words flow, and let stream of consciousness take over. I have had a couple friends entrust me with their words to read, and I am probably going to cheerfully return the favor. I really do like my story, I’m happy with where it will be going, and I’m excited to see how far this branch of the road takes me. I have Too Much Going On right now however, so I will be unable to hit my goal. Oh well, there is always next year, and a whole 12 months for me to plan out and schedule my life!

Warlords of Draenor

WoWScrnShot_111314_145828
Insert ‘that’s no moon!’ here

 

Wow. Wow as in the interjection, in this case. I am absolutely blown away by this expansion! The initial bout of server instability, crashing, and queues was annoying, oh yes, but I was affected less than others. I can certainly understand the pain and frustration, especially since EVERYONE WAS SO EXCITED AND POSTING THINGS EVERYWHERE!!! The zones are absolutely breathtaking, so much time and care went into just the landscape alone. Questing is fun and engaging, it draws you right into the story and doesn’t let you go for quite some time. You hit the ground running from the time you step through the dark portal, and then you get to your garrison.

I could easily write an entire series of blog posts about garrisons, but another wonderful human (Alternative Chat) already has that quite well covered, so go read her words if you’re not already. I promise you won’t regret it.

Needless to say, in typical fashion, I am tearing down and replacing buildings to accrue more garrison resources. I have to remember this is a long-term game, if the past stands to be true, so while I want ALL the things, I need to build SOME of the things first in order to accomplish what goals I have in a, if not timely, straightforward manner.

Aww yiss
Aww yiss

I am having quite the time on my enhancement shaman, who is now officially my new main. I am still getting used to playing as a melee in a group setting, my amount of mistakes seems to be decreasing at a somewhat steady pace. I am forever over critical of myself, and see so much more room for improvement, but my guildies and friends are supportive and helpful, which always helps tremendously when building one’s confidence. More about all this later, you’re writing a summary post, self!

Dragon Age: Inquisition

Tell em girl
Tell em girl

THIS GAME. Holy crap. Amazingly beautiful, I really love the pacing of it thus far, and I’m having a ball just exploring and seeing what all there is to do, and there is a lot to do. The first area you’re sent to has a myriad of side quests to do, and while I want to go through the story line, I also want to explore everything, because I know myself, and I will let those quests just rot in my quest log, and never go back and complete them. I can also see myself playing through it on multiple characters, as is the tradition with Dragon Age games. So far my favorite thing has been just how BIG the world is. One of my least favorite things about Dragon Age 2 was that you were very confined with the world. You had Kirkwall, the beaches, and the Deep Roads. I have already spent a few hours blissfully running around, with Solas, Varric, and Cassandra in tow, and that was only one quest area. This too, deserves a solo post!

 

To summarize: THERE IS SO MUCH GOING ON AND SO MANY GAMES I WANT TO PLAY AND ARGH. I might be contemplating streaming (probably not till the new year), as a side note- please let me know if this is something you think I should pursue, or if I have too much on my plate as is.

 

Happy Friday, and have a great weekend!

One thought on “An Update

Leave a Reply

