Honestly, Though

Disclaimer: The following is a very honest portrayal of my current mindset and state of the game, and probably will not be as light-hearted and full of bad jokes as my normal posts. Just something I feel I have to address, for myself.


 

As discussed many times previously, I am a chronic procrastinator. Heck, I even state as much in my bio on Twitter. This spills over from Real Life into the games that I play, as many other mannerisms do.

With Warlords basically right around the corner, and 6.0 even closer, I am realizing that I am not going to be able to accomplish all that I want to do before the World of Warcraft changes once more. It took me a couple days to be okay with that. No, this post is not going to be me beating myself up, I am going to try to put a positive spin on all this. Yes, I realize (more than most I think) that it is Just A Game, but it is also my main game, my main ‘thing’ that I do to pass the time when I’m not working, at school, or socializing in the real world.

The main two things on my to-do list are to get my legendary cloak for my main, and also get her green fire quest done. As of yesterday, my main priority is the green fire quest. I have gone without legendaries for a couple expansions now, and although the cloak looks really cool, and the lore is also really cool, I can live without it. I can also live with being a procrastinator, as long as I realize I am one, and don’t let myself fritter away for literally a year on my goals.

Life happens, interest wanes, in the big picture I didn’t play WoW for probably half of Seige, and yes the time that I’ve been active since then I’ve been playing other games, but I have to remind myself that that is okay, it is okay to want to do other things, to not feel like one game is a job, because that is the main factor that has put me off of WoW in the past.

But, Byx, what does all this have to do with some pixels in a video game? Well, I’m glad you asked. They are goals I set out to achieve, and now I am worried that I will not have time to complete them. Before the hammer strikes and 6.0 drops and Azeroth changes, with the legendary quest chain becoming obsolete, and the ability to still get the green fire, but without the title and it being a feat of strength, I want to know and accept and realize that it is okay that I didn’t do everything. I am allowed to leave some things undone.

I think I mentioned this in other posts, in fact I am sure I have, but I have a tendency to talk the talk but not walk the walk. This is something I am aware of, and something that I work on each and every day, even in minor instances. Even now, I look over at my real life to-do list, and there are several things I need to do, I know I need to do them, but I get busy in the day to day and forget until it’s weeks later and I’m swearing.

I had a conversation with someone (who if they are reading this, thanks, and also you know who you are ^.^) and they said that ‘priorities are hard to balance, but if it really matters you do find the time’ Simple words, but they resonate. Sometimes a simple conversation can create a spark, and get the gears turning.

All that being said, my goal for the immediate future is the green fire quest. Wrathion is a cool dude, and I will definitely be sad if I never get the legendary cloak, but it is also no-one’s fault but my own. I have had a year to do this, I have had several days in which to accomplish and complete the tasks, but I have put it off for another day. Now that my life is suddenly (wonderfully) busy, and I only have a few hours during the week, and occasionally the full weekend day, I am realizing other things are taking priority than some pretty pixellated cloak.

I am constantly evolving and changing, day to day. A year ago I was a different person, and in another year the same will be true.

Thank you as always for reading, and have a great day 🙂

One thought on “Honestly, Though

  1. Good luck with the green fire quest 🙂 I don’t want green fire, so I haven’t had any incentive to work at the fight. I have made a recent stab at it, because I would like the title, but I know it isn’t something I’ll regret later so I’m not stressing about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

