My Answers

As many of you probably know, Alternative Chat has begun this awesome project in which she asks many WoW players all across the board the same 10 questions for the upcoming 10 year anniversary of the game. I’ve decided to put my answers in blog form, so here goes!

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

I was in college, had been playing Guild Wars, friends kept ooh-ing and aah-ing over WoW and that convinced me to try it.  Their love for the game, the passion when they talked about it, the fact that they were very good, honest friends during and after a not-so-fun part in my life, really convinced me to give it a shot.

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

First ever was a druid, as I mentioned in a post earlier. To reiterate: I wanted to play a non-human race for starters, and my one friend had a druid at max level (60, since it was during BC) and was showing me how you could fly around and change into different animals, and help your friends or group out in different ways. After I flailed my way to level 15 or so, I decided to try a warlock. Thus marked the beginning of the dark times…haha

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

Like many people, it was whatever faction my friends were on at the time. I’ve tried to play Alliance, I want to play Alliance, to get their side of the story line, see all the zones from a different perspective, but so far have only managed to make it to level 55 or so.

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why? 

Most memorable series of moments has to be raiding ICC. I was so lucky to be with an amazing group of men and women that really made the game very enjoyable. Even though after a while the fights were old news, when we were actually progressing through them was some of the best teamwork, quick thinking, and bonding experiences ever in a game. The preparation involved (at the time) for the Blood Princes fight was insanely fun to do. I also got to tank and heal for the first time in a raid setting there on my druid.

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

The social aspect has always been and will always be my favorite thing. I have made so many long-term friends in the game, raiding doesn’t compare to catching up with someone in the military, or to a friend who is now married and starting a family.
6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

I usually always have a habit of logging out in the capital city on my mains. My alts I usually don’t bother with, wherever they end up rested is fine with me. My main characters though, I like to have them parked in a ‘safe’ place, even though I don’t play on PvP servers. I just find comfort in knowing that when I log in on them, the bank, auction houses, etc are never far away.

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

That was a scary few letters to type. 151 days, 17 hours.

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

I do not normally, no. I did when they revamped the quest areas during Cataclysm, when I was working on Loremaster. I do when I’m on my Alliance alts, but when I’m leveling up yet another Horde alt through Hillsbrad Foothills? No.

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

A few, but there are regrets with anything. I don’t regret the time I’ve put into it. I’ve always prioritized real life over the game, so I haven’t missed any events due to needing to raid or anything. I regret the friends lost over stupid stuff like having to rearrange a raid roster and people getting hurt over it, I regret being hurt over stupid petty guild drama, but I try not to hold on to those feelings, I’ve moved on as much as I can, like with anything else in life.

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

It’s helped me realize that friendship is more important than what gear you have or what mount you are on.  Raiding helped me with coordinating time and people, raid leading helped me with multitasking, it’s helped me with communication skills (when all you have is text, you have to type a loooot more than if you just could vocalize it). It’s given me an escape from the real world when I need it, a way to be an introvert and still be able to socialize and have friends, without the fear that sometimes comes with going outside and dealing with huge crowds. It also inspired me to start up my blog =D

 

There you have it! Everyone be sure to check out Alternative Chat’s blog, and more specifically this post !

Hope everyone has a great Monday! And by great I mean let’s all just survive it mk?

2 responses to “My Answers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

